Eastern Shore

County:Halifax Regoinal Municipality

The Eastern Shore is a region of Nova Scotia Canada. It is the Atlantic coast running northeast from Halifax Harbour to the eastern end of the peninsula at the Strait of Canso.

The Eastern Shore is a scenic, yet sparsely settled area, hosting dozens of small fishing harbours and communities; in recent decades the region has become home to a growing number of cottages and recreational properties, given the amount of unspoiled sand beaches and dramatic coastlines. The shore also hosts the majority of Nova Scotia's small islands.

The western end of the Eastern Shore borders on the Dartmouth side of the urban core of the Halifax Regional Municipality (HRM) and which is experiencing urban sprawl. The provincial scenic travelway, the "Marine Drive", runs on Trunk 7, Trunk 16, Route 207, Route 211, Route 316, Route 322, and Route 344 through most centres along the shore.

The tourism industry is concentrated near popular beaches and provincial parks such as Lawrencetown, Clam Harbour, and Martinique, as well as the centrally-located service communities of Musquodoboit Harbour, Sheet Harbour, Sherbrooke, Canso, Guysborough and Mulgrave. Popular tourist attractions include the Liscombe Lodge resort and conference centre at Liscomb Mills and the Historic Sherbrooke Village at Sherbrooke.

Politically the Eastern Shore is part of three federal ridings: Cape Breton-Canso at the eastern end, Central Nova, and Sackville—Eastern Shore at the western end. The provincial ridings include Eastern Shore, Guysborough-Sheet Harbour, as well as several ridings in the eastern part of HRM's urban core (south and east of Dartmouth).

In the Halifax Regional Municipality, the Eastern Shore is represented on Halifax Regional Council as District 1 Eastern Shore - Musquodoboit Valley and District 3 Preston - Lawrencetown - Chezzetcook .